First Line Friday – 3 March 2017 – The Illusionist’s Apprentice (Kristy Cambron)

first-line-fridays31

It’s Friday again! Time for a First Line, and boy do I have a good one for you today. And I don’t just mean the first line. This whole book…it’s just…*whispers* magical! But ssshhhh! Don’t tell Wren I used that word. She’s an illusionist—she doesn’t do magic!

~ About the Book ~

Not all illusions happen on the stage.

Wren Lockhart, apprentice to master illusionist Harry Houdini, uses life on a vaudeville stage to escape the pain of her past. She continues her career of illusion after her mentor’s death, intent on burying her true identity.

But when a rival performer’s act goes tragically wrong, the newly formed FBI calls on Wren to speak the truth—and reveal her real name to the world. She transfers her skills for misdirection from the stage to the back halls of vaudeville, as she finds herself the unlikely partner in the FBI’s investigation. All the while Houdini’s words echo in her mind: Whatever occurs, the crowd must believe it’s what you meant to happen. She knows that if anyone digs too deep, secrets long kept hidden may find their way to the surface—and shatter her carefully controlled world.

Set during one of the richest, most vibrant eras in American history, this Jazz Age novel of illusion, suspense, and forgotten pasts is perfect for fans of The Magician’s Lie, challenging all to find the underpinnings of faith on their own life’s stage.

Amazon //  Goodreads

~ First Line ~

Agent Elliot Matthews stared down a firing squad.

I haven’t quite finished the book yet, and I am absolutely riveted! You do not want to miss this one, which releases on Tuesday 7 March!

Don’t forget to share your first line in the comments, and then hop on over and find out what the other First Liners have for you today:

Sarah ~ All The Book Blog Names Are Taken //  Bree ~ Bibliophile Reviews //
Rachel ~ Bookworm Mama  //  Heather ~ Encouraging Words from the Tea Queen  //
Beth ~ Faithfully Bookish  //  Kathleen ~ Kathleen Denly  //  Lauraine ~ Lauraine’s Notes  //
Andi ~ Radiant Light  //  Carrie ~ Reading is my Superpower  //  Robin ~ Robin’s Nest  //
Sydney ~ Singing Librarian  //  Amanda ~ With a Joyful Noise

If you would like to join us for First Line Friday, contact Carrie at Reading is my Superpower.

Advertisements

About Fiction Aficionado

Homeschooling mum, word lover, reader extraordinaire, and follower of Christ
Image | This entry was posted in Historical Fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to First Line Friday – 3 March 2017 – The Illusionist’s Apprentice (Kristy Cambron)

  1. “Though the day would soon grow warm, the early coastal chill cut straight to the bone.” Malcolm, by George MacDonald.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Heather says:

    Anna’s Crossing
    by Suzanne Woods Fisher

    And the fist line is…

    April 15th, 1737

    “It’s a hard crossing, they’d been warned. Eight weeks in a wooden tub with no guarantee they’d ever get there.”

    Happy reading and happy Friday!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Well someone’s in trouble. Ha ha. Great first line.

    For Love or Loyalty by Jennifer Hudson Taylor

    “A feeling of foreboding crawled over Malcolm MacGregor like a colony of insects picking at his skin.”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. amandatero says:

    Oh wow. This one sounds very interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Winnie Thomas says:

    “Flames lapped at the monk’s robes.” Prologue to The Message in a Bottle by Joanne Bischof, Amanda Dykes, Heather Day Gilbert, Jocelyn Green, and Maureen Lang

    Sounds like another guy is in trouble! LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Janet W. Ferguson says:

    Elyse McCord guided her Jeep down the gravel road for another slow pass.
    Christine Lynxwiler’s Cowgirl at Heart.
    I’m reading this for my local book club.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Weekend Book Buzz | Fiction Aficionado

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s