First Line Friday – 19 January 2018 – Isaiah’s Daughter (Mesu Andrews)

first-line-fridays31

Welcome to First Line Friday, hosted by Hoarding Books! I’m deep in the world of 8th Century BC Judah this week, thoroughly engrossed in Mesu Andrews’ new release Isaiah’s Daughter. I can’t wait to share my review with you all tomorrow!

You’ve probably noticed that Carrie is sharing the first line from Isaiah’s Daughter on Hoarding Books blog, so I’m going to share the first line from chapter two today. I think you’ll find it follows on nicely from the first line of chapter one!


~ About the Book ~

In this epic Biblical narrative, ideal for fans of The Bible miniseries, a young woman taken into the prophet Isaiah’s household rises to capture the heart of the future king.

Isaiah adopts Ishma, giving her a new name–Zibah, delight of the Lord–thereby ensuring her royal pedigree. Ishma came to the prophet’s home, devastated after watching her family destroyed and living as a captive. But as the years pass, Zibah’s lively spirit wins Prince Hezekiah’s favor, a boy determined to rebuild the kingdom his father has nearly destroyed. But loving this man will awake in her all the fears and pain of her past and she must turn to the only One who can give life, calm her fears, and deliver a nation.

Amazon US  //  Goodreads

~ First Line ~

I was tired of being brave, and I hated donkeys.

Are you a fan of Biblical fiction? If you are, you really need to read this book!

I’d love it if you’d share the first line of whatever you’re currently reading in the comments. And don’t forget, you can find out what other bloggers are sharing for First Line Friday by going over to Hoarding Books blog and finding all the links. If you’ve got your own blog, why not join in and add your link over there. 🙂

About Fiction Aficionado

Homeschooling mum, word lover, reader extraordinaire, and follower of Christ
This entry was posted in Biblical Fiction, First Line Fridays, Historical Fiction, New Releases and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to First Line Friday – 19 January 2018 – Isaiah’s Daughter (Mesu Andrews)

  1. Iola says:

    I can’t say I hate donkeys, although I can see that someone might. The might make appealing pets, but they have a reputation for being stubborn when there is work to be done.

    I’m about to start reading The Boy in the Hoodie, a young adult novel by debut Australian author Catriona McKewon. Here’s the first line:

    Before I met him, there wasn’t much I knew about the boy in the hoodie.He seemed to live above the rules.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ellie says:

    Biblical fiction doesn’t appeal to me for some reason. I know others RAVE about it so maybe I should give it a try.

    My first line today (that I’m also sharing on my blog) is from Melissa Tagg’s From the Start. “How in the world had rain earned such a romantic rep?”

    I hope you have a nice weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Trisha says:

    Over on my blog I’m sharing the first line from Heather Day Gilbert’s latest “Guilt by Association” It is the 3rd book in her Murder in the Mountains series. I’ll share here the first line from chapter 4.
    “Without a doubt, the number five trailer is the prettiest place in Scots’ Hollow.”
    Have a wonderful weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Becky says:

    I loved Isaiah’s Daughter so much!

    I’m sharing about The Melody of the Soul by Liz Tolsma on my blog today, but I’ll share a first line from a book on my soon-to-read list here.

    Your first thought upon picking up this book is probably: How can a person born without any limbs consider himself to to be the hands and feet of Jesus on this Earth?
    -Be the Hands and Feet: Living Out God’s Love for All His Children by Nick Vujicic

    Happy weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Suzie says:

    This was such a beautiful story and it made me dive into the Scriptures surrounding the characters. Can’t wait to see what Mesu Andrews gives us next.

    The snow in middle Tennessee melted enough that my mailman finally showed up with a few packages in hand (a few of the books I’ve been waiting on). I pulled the first line to share from one of those:

    Her head throbbed and grogginess gripped her.
    –Thread of Revenge by Elizabeth Goddard

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Fascinating! The book I’m sharing on my blog this week is Runaway Bride by Mary Connealy. I will share here the first line from a children’s book I just finished reading by A. Lynn Basset called The Boy and The Clock Book. “Tick-tock, tick-tock. Only three minutes stood between Charlie Higgins and the best summer ever!” Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. rbclibrary says:

    This book looks wonderful! I’m featuring Melody of The Soul by Liz Tolsma on my blog, but I’ll share from my current read, Coldwater by Samuel Parker. “The day was born in darkness.”

    Liked by 1 person

  8. lelandandbecky says:

    Happy Friday! My first line is from Callum’s Compass by Sara L. Foust:

    “A persistent knock at the front door dragged Kat Williams awake.”

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Carrie says:

    love love that line!!! And it goes beautifully with the first line!

    My current first line is from The House on Foster Hill by Jaime Jo Wright –

    “Death had a way of creeping up on a soul, and Ivy Thorpe was determined that when it visited her, she would not be surprised.”

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Kara says:

    I love that line! I’ve heard really good things about this one. You and Carrie are certainly intriguing me! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. carylkane says:

    I love Biblical fiction! I have yet to read Mesu’s books.

    PROLOGUE

    Two Years Earlier

    Renee huddled in the garden shed in her pajamas and tried to hear him over the pounding of her heart in her ears. – Beneath Copper Falls by Colleen Coble

    Happy Friday and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I loved this book SO much!!! It’s a truly great read.

    Happy Friday!

    Over on my blog, I am featuring Brett Armstrong’s novel Destitutio Quod Remissio. It’s an interesting read so far. Here I will post the first lines from chapter four of this book.

    “The streets were filled beyond the usual that day, or perhaps it only appeared so to Marcus. The market district was expansive enough to accommodate thousands. Over it looked the tall stone buildings surrounding the huge open Forum that was the city’s center for centuries. All of the grand structures were washed white by the noon’s radiance and loomed large over the transactions of Rome’s citizens.”

    Liked by 1 person

  13. A great start of this story. Today I am show casing one of my must read series, Mattie Winston. The link is
    https://wordpress.com/view/idahobluebird50.com

    Liked by 1 person

  14. As you might have guessed I am not so much for the Biblical fiction, but I do love the non-fiction works and works pertaining to Biblical archaeology. Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Courtney @ The Green Mockingbird Blog says:

    The first line of my current read: Impossible Saints by Clarissa Harwood.

    Ingleford, Surrey: June 1907
    The day her pupil’s father threw Lilia Brooke’s copy of Homer’s Odyssey across the schoolroom was the day she knew she’d have to leave Ingleford.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.