Top Ten Tuesday – Unique Book Titles

top-ten-tuesday-graphic11

Welcome to another Top Ten Tuesday post! The girls at The Broke and the Bookish have come up with a really fun topic this week: Top Ten Unique Book Titles. I have to admit, I was a little stumped for a while, wracking my brain to try and think of unique titles, but once I started looking through my collections I came up with so many I had to go back and work out what to cut out!

I’ve got quite an eclectic collection for you today: children’s books, general fiction, and some Christian fiction. Some are so well known I almost overlooked the uniqueness of the title, others are titles that immediately piqued my interest, and others still just made me say, “What the?” But they are definitely all unique!

Green Eggs and Ham – Dr. Seuss

The most iconic of them all! Of course, there are any number of Dr. Seuss books I could have mentioned: Fox in Socks, There’s a Wocket in my Pocket and so on. But I think this is probably the most well known.

Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day – Judith Viorst

What a great title, huh? Who among us can’t relate to have had one of those days? Judith Viorst has some other great titles too: Alexander, Who Used to be Rich Last Sunday; Alexander, Who’s Not (Do You Hear Me? I Mean It) Going to Move.

 

Waddle Giggle Gargle – Pamela Allen

This was a favourite of my kids’ when they were a little younger, especially as magpies are very common in our area. ‘Waddle-Giggle-Gargle-Paddle-Poodle’ imitates the call of the magpie as he seeks to defend his territory each day as Jonathan and his grandparents walk past to go about their business.

 

How to Eat Fried Worms – Thomas Rockwell

Anyone else remember reading this one in primary/elementary school? I’m sure I must have done so under protest, because, EWWWW!

 

 

 

Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams

I haven’t read this myself, but this five-book trilogy (yes, I typed that correctly) is a favourite of my hubby. Any other fans out there?

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies – Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith

Yay or nay? I have lots of friends who’ve raved about this (or at least, the movie version) but I haven’t read/watched it yet. But you have to admit, it’s a unique, attention-grabbing title!

 

 

The Five Times I Met Myself – James Rubart

Isn’t that a fabulous title? You can’t help but pick up a book with a title like that and at least read the back cover. Mind you, my copy is still sitting on my Kindle waiting for me . . . *sigh*

 

 

The Evaporation of Sofi Snow – Mary Weber

Another title that makes you pick the book off the shelf. And another book that’s waiting patiently on my Kindle . . . BTW – it’s currently $0.99, although I’m not sure for how long.

 

 

A Fool and His Monet – Sandra Orchard

Serena Jones is an art fraud investigator with the FBI and I love the clever titles in the Serena Jones series. Other titles include: Another Day, Another Dali and Over Maya Dead Body. Very fun series!

 

 

Turtles in the Road – Rhonda and Kaley Rhea

One of the funniest contemporary romances I have ever read! (Read my review here.) And, yes, it’s talking literal turtles. 🙂

 

 

 

The Most Famous Illegal Goose Creek Parade – Virginia Smith

What a mouthful! This is a fun series about almost-retired couple Al & Millie Richardson who live in the small town of Goose Creek.

 

 

 

~ BONUS ~

Okay, so technically this is the second bonus, because there’s actually eleven books in my list already, but I had to include this title I stumbled across when I was looking for unique book titles to add to my list:

Hollow Chocolate Bunnies of the Apocalypse – Robert Rankin

I hasten to point out that this is not actually a recommendation. Based on the description and the reviews I have read I’m pretty sure this is not the book for me, but I couldn’t resist mentioning the title!

 

 

Have you read any of the above books? I’d love to hear some more unique book titles in the comments! 🙂

About Fiction Aficionado

Homeschooling mum, word lover, reader extraordinaire, and follower of Christ
This entry was posted in Children's Fiction, Christian Fiction, General Fiction, Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday – Unique Book Titles

  1. sbmcmh says:

    Five Times I Met Myself is fabulous! Now I need to read Long Journey to Jake Palmer. And Sandra Orchard’s series is definitely fun. My children have loved some of the titles here….I think I can recite Green Eggs and Ham in my sleep….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Urgh it took me ages to come up with a list too.
    These are definitely unique titles!
    Cora ❤ http://www.teapartyprincess.co.uk/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sarah says:

    LOVE THE kid’s books!

    Like

  4. I haven’t heard of most of these, but great choices!
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2017/10/24/top-ten-tuesday-130/

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve seen that Hollow Chocolate Bunnies book on a few lists today. I love that title.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Winnie Thomas says:

    I’ve read the first two many times and heard of some of the others. Thanks for the fun list!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Weekend Book Buzz – 28/29 October 2017 | Fiction Aficionado

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.